WASHINGTON— Today, members of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies (JCCIC) announced attendance guidelines and logistic information for the 59th Inaugural Ceremonies, which will take place on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol on January 20, 2021. JCCIC Chairman Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) notified the congressional community of these guidelines earlier today.

“The JCCIC, in consultation with diversified public health and medical experts and the Presidential Inaugural Committee, has determined that this global pandemic and the rise in COVID-19 cases warranted a difficult decision to limit attendance at the 59th Inaugural Ceremonies to a live audience that resembles a State of the Union,” said Chairman Roy Blunt. “We are also working on enhanced opportunities to watch the ceremonies online, in addition to the traditional televised national broadcast.”

“The election of President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris was historic and we know that many Americans would have wanted to attend the Inauguration in-person. At the same time, safety must be our top priority,” said Senator Amy Klobuchar. “While the pandemic has forced us to limit in-person attendance, it also brings opportunities to honor our democracy in innovative ways so that Americans across the country can experience Inauguration Day from home.”

Traditionally, the JCCIC would distribute 200,000 tickets for the official ceremonies at the Capitol and provide ticket bundles to Members of the 117thCongress to distribute to constituents. For the 59th Inaugural Ceremonies, invitations to Members of the 117th Congress will be limited to themselves and one guest. Commemorative ticket bundles and program packets will be made available to Member offices for constituents following the ceremonies.

Since 1901, and in accordance with the 20th Amendment of the Constitution, the JCCIC has been responsible for the planning and execution of the inaugural ceremonies of the president-elect and vice president-elect of the United States at the Capitol.