WASHINGTON— U.S. Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO), Chairman of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, and Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ranking Member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Rules and Administration, today released the following statement regarding the 59th Inaugural Ceremonies:
“Since 1901, the Joint Committee has been entrusted to plan and host the inaugural ceremonies every four years to mark the transition to a new presidential administration or the commencement of a new presidential term—thus fulfilling the 20th Amendment of the Constitution.
“Yesterday was a sad and solemn day for our country. The outrageous attack on the Capitol, however, will not stop us from affirming to Americans—and the world—that our democracy endures. Our committee’s bipartisan, bicameral membership remains committed to working with our many partners to execute ceremonies that are safe and showcase our determined democracy.
“The great American tradition of an inaugural ceremony has occurred in times of peace, in times of turmoil, in times of prosperity, and in times of adversity. We will be swearing in President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol on January 20, 2021.”